Pea-mond Butter Banana Bread

Banana bread.

I have a soft spot for it, but don’t eat it often because there are certainly healthier options out there for me. But recently, I found a new recipe that I decided to tweak even just a bit more, and the end result was a much healthier, just-as-tasty version of this classic staple. The tweak was rather simple, I guess.

Peanut Butter and Almond Butter.

Now, I always make sure that I use the peanut and almond butters that contain ONLY peanuts and almonds.  No added sugar or salt.  Of course, the option is yours, but I was going for a healthier version of banana bread, so a healthy version of these butters was necessary to achieve my desired result.   10408489_1558532534425905_8133291141784764788_n Once you’ve added the bananas, you’ll see that I will blend “until they reach the desired consistency”. The ingredients will all blend together while the bananas are still pretty chunky. The more you use the mixer, the “mushier” the bananas will become. Blend less for more banana pieces in the finished product. I prefer my banana bread without the actual pieces of banana. My husband, however, only likes it if it has large chunks throughout each piece. So it’s entirely up to you. Just make sure the other ingredients have blended well.

The original recipe I worked with had the oven heated at 325°, and only baking the bread for 45-55 minutes.  When I checked the loaf at 50 minutes, the knife came out covered in batter.  I gave it another ten, and still, the inside wasn’t cooked anymore than before, but the outside was getting brown.  I covered it loosely in foil, left the sides open, turned the oven up to 350, and gave it another ten minutes.

Glorious Perfection. 10646817_1558532341092591_2799581992494710807_n This is definitely a new household favorite, and I hope you can enjoy it too!

Ingredients
1 c. sugar
1/2 c. coconut oil
1/4 c. peanut butter
1/4 c. almond butter
2 overly ripe bananas
2 eggs
7 tbsp sour milk*
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 c. all purpose flour

*to make sour milk, add one teaspoon white vinegar to the 7 tbsp. milk.  Let stand for 5 minutes.

Directions
Preheat oven to 350°
Spray/grease loaf pan with cooking spray or butter. I use a 9×5.5″ pan and prefer cooking spray to avoid burning.
Mix oil, peanut butter, almond butter and sugar with a hand mixer until smooth. Add bananas, eggs sour milk and baking soda; blend well. It will blend before the bananas are entirely “mush.” Continue blending until they reach the desired consistency.
Add 1 c. flour; mix.
Repeat with 2nd c. of flour.
Mix until just combined.
Place batter in the prepared pan.
Bake for 1 hour (60 minutes).
Check consistency with toothpick at 45 minutes. You can cover the top with foil if you are worried about burning the top, just make sure you don’t have it completely sealed. It needs to breathe so it doesn’t become soggy from steam.
Cool completely before removing from pan.

Serve warm, with butter or coconut oil, and enjoy! 10991052_1558532404425918_634462435662344462_n __

Find more NTMF on Facebook:
www.facebook.com/naptimemusingsandfumings

Original Recipe, here.

One thought on “Pea-mond Butter Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

