House of Cards

Something about you is so disarming

And if I’m lying to myself, I’d say I’m not falling

For those gentle blue eyes and smile so charming.

Everything you do makes it hard to breathe.

Every touch, every word, every glance, every day.

You could quite possibly hold my world in your hands.

Is that alright with you?  Cuz it’s alright with me.

Cuz I’m falling like a house of cards

Built on a carpet floor in the slightest breeze.

Stopping my heart from loving you

Is like trying to stop a wave from breaking

With just the smallest pebble in its way.

One kiss could change our everything,

Stop the sun from shining or the earth from spinning.

You’ve got your dreams and plans and life to live,

I won’t be the one who gets in your way.

But I’m starting to think my life without you

Isn’t any way to live at all.

Can you fall enough to give me the chance to love?

Is it alright with you?  Cuz it’s alright with me.

Cuz I’m falling like a house of cards

Built on a carpet floor in the slightest breeze.

Stopping my heart from loving you

Is like trying to stop a wave from breaking

With just the smallest pebble in its way.

One kiss could change our everything, 

Stop the sun from shining or the earth from spinning.

You should know my heart by now,

That you’ve always been the one.

Let it be alright with you.

You should have heard my words by now.

They aren’t just empty promises,

You deserve so much more.

You should know me by now.

That I’m not her.

So now what’s holding you back?

Cuz I’m falling like a house of cards

Built on a carpet floor in the slightest breeze.

Stopping my earth from loving you

Is like trying to stop a wave from breaking

With just the slightest pebble in its way.

One kiss could change our everything,

Stop the sun from shining or the earth from spinning.

Is it alright with you?  Cuz it’s alright with me.

Leave a Reply

